BLOG / EDITOR'S SCRAWL

BRIGHT LIGHTS, BIG CITY

Last night, I took an eight hour bus ride from Chicago to Minneapolis to come home for the holidays.  I love being home for so many of the usual reasons: I’m able to spend time with my family and childhood friends, I can take a break from the stress of school and work, and I get to enjoy the luxuries of free laundry and home cooked meals.  However, one major thing seems to be missing from my list.  Home doesn’t quite feel like home.  I can’t shake the feeling that I don’t feel as comfortable, or as myself, as I do in Chicago.

I have always been drawn to big cities—the dirtier, the crazier, the better.  Cities seem to pulse with a desire to always be working toward the next big thing, a characteristic I value within myself.  The bright lights fill me with excitement, the noises with anticipation.  Everyone I meet in cities becomes a role model, because I know they too are each driven by some unique goal.

I have learned more about myself in the past year and a half than at any other point in my life.  I could attribute this fact to having started college, moved into my first apartment, and learned to be on my own, but I really believe the city itself is to be blamed.  I grew up with the desire to Get Out, to Move To The City, and I accomplished that goal.

However, along with this revelation comes a new fear: what if I outgrow Chicago too?  In high school, I developed an appreciation for Minneapolis that I had never felt before, only to lose it to this bigger, crazier, city.  What happens when I graduate, and I become consumed with an entirely new need to find my place in the world?  It has always been a dream of mine to spend a few years in New York after college.  If this dream comes true, will I lose the feeling of home I have for Chicago, like I lost the feeling of home I had for Minneapolis?

I mentioned earlier that I value my desire to always be working toward the next big thing.  It’s possible that I’ll never be totally satisfied with where I am, when I know something bigger is out there.  But I have to embrace my inner wanderlust, and know that if this desire is allowing me to constantly grow, it’ll be the driving force making me the best person I can be.  After all, that’s what it’s all about: moving out, moving on, moving forward.

***

ELIZABETH GAUGHAN

Leave a comment